Tippecanoe School Corporation
TSC recognizes outgoing board members
Sue Scott

The Tippecanoe School Board of School Trustees recognized two outgoing school board members at the December 14 board meeting. It was the last meeting for Linda Day and Patrick Hein.

Day served District 3 which encompasses Washington and Perry Townships for 24 and a half years. Hein completed two terms representing District 1 which is Wabash Township and a portion of Shelby Township.

Day is the longest serving board member in TSC history. TSC Superintendent Dr. Scott Hanback says Day was an outstanding board member who provided a deep commitment and stable influence for decades: “Linda served with an unwavering commitment to helping students succeed by understanding and adhering to the core values and principles of local school governance. She provided necessary oversight of the policies, goals, and financial matters of the corporation.”

Day served as a member of the Indiana Education Roundtable, past president of the Indiana School Boards Association (ISBA), and past president of the TSC School Board. The ISBA presented her with an Outstanding Boardsmanip Award in 2014.

Day witnessed the TSC evolve from a mostly rural, small town dominant school system to a mostly suburban, continually growing progressive district. “While we can be proud of that, it hasn’t come without challenges and a lot of hard work from our teachers, administrators and board,” says Day. Those challenges included moving from a junior high school to middle school model, weathering the 2010 recession, rebuilding from the tornado that hit Mintonye Elementary School and Southwestern Middle School and responding to COVID. “What I believe has been my greatest accomplishment during all of this has been being a calm and clear voice speaking on behalf of what is best for all the students in our corporation.”

The former English teacher says she is humbled and grateful for the community’s support. “A special thank you to all the wonderful people who have served alongside me on the board over the years,” says Day. “We may not have always agreed, but with compromise, cooperation and civility we created a terrific example of what public education can be.”

Will Sondergrath was elected to the District 3 seat vacated by Day. Holly Keckler will replace Hein in representing District 1. They will be sworn into office in January.